Fedora 33 Gnome: I cannot type letter 'ç' a with English (US, alt. Intl.)

Hi everyone,
I cannot type letter ‘ç’ ('+c sequence) a with English (US, alt. Intl.) keyboard, the letter ‘ć’ coming out instead.

The problem exists under Linux only, under Windows, macOS, with the same keyboard layout the letter ‘ç’ comes out normally.

3 Likes

Can you use some control sequence, such as ç ?

I typed Ctrl-Shift-U-00e7 to get that.

1 Like

That’s fine if you need to type a character infrequently, but painful if it’s common in the language you’re writing in…

2 Likes

Normal key sequence (macOS, Windows) is “single-quote+c-character”.

It’s very painful for French (I live in France), but I prefer to use the US keyboard (I’m a dev). Solution:

GTK_IM_MODULE=cedilla
QT_IM_MODULE=cedilla

to put in the /etc/environment file, works on Ubuntu, but does not work on Fedora 33.

Is it an option for you to use “English (US, intl., with dead keys)” or “English (intl., with AltGr dead keys)”?

There you have ‘ç’ as alternative character on ‘,’ key (AltGr+,)

It appears that “US, intl.” as you know if from Windows or Mac are simply not the same layouts as “US, alt. Intl.” in Linux. Wikipedia article also states: “' + c → ç (Windows) or ć (X11)”

4 Likes

Thank you. No way to get the Ubuntu solution to work (“GTK_IM_MODULE = cedilla” to put somewhere)?

I don’t know if this will work, but you might try creating /etc/systemd/system/gdm.service.d/override.conf with the following lines:

[Service]
Environment="GTK_IM_MODULE=cedilla"
PassEnvironment=GTK_IM_MODULE
2 Likes

This might be the missing part to configure it:

I’m the lucky one with the pt-BR keyboard who has a ç key. But as I also use other keyboards this could be very usefully for me to. Thx to bring it up @vvot :+1:

Personally I do not see any reason that the behavior of the English (US, alt. Intl.) keyboard should be different compared to other platforms.