Reminiscing about distro history

Continuing from Introduce yourself! (2023 Q1) - #66 by afarrag

Guess that makes me quite the nerd.
I have been using linux beginning with redhat about 1992. :nerd_face: :sunglasses:

2 Likes

I’m curious about that - I thought Red Hat was a fork of Slackware and came out ~1994/1995. I got my first DOS machine in 1992. It was an Osborne One before that (which I still have!).

1 Like

We have some Red Hat Linux history on the wiki — History of Red Hat Linux - Fedora Project Wiki. It was never a Slackware fork, always its own thing.

It’s possible that Slackware was used to create it… that was probably the most popular distro at the time. But I have no actual knowledge…

1 Like

I didn’t remember exactly when RH was created. My first linux machine was RH, and installed from either floppies or CD. I bought RH and used to have the original box it came in but have moved enough times that those items have disappeared. When Fedora Core was created in 2003 I of course switched to fedora.

According to wikipedia the first release of RH was in 1994 so I must have remembered the dates wrong. Widioedia also shows RHEL was released in 2004.

1 Like

Interesting, TIL! It was my (incorrect) understanding that both Red Hat Linux and SuSE were derived from Slackware (since that and Debian were the only two main ones at the time), but I’m struggling to find a non-forum/blog source for that for RHL where the SuSE’s Slackware roots are clear. Closest I could find was multiple sites referencing that Bob Young started off his business selling Slackware CDs before rebranding ACC Bookstore as Red Hat with Marc Ewing.

That said, I found the original mailing list archive where Marc Ewing described Red Hat Software (RHS) Linux as “Built from scratch, RHS Linux represents a quantum leap in Linux usability.” (Red Hat Software Linux on CD-ROM now shipping)

1 Like

The distributions trees/timelines as a graphic:

Linux Distributions Timeline

2 Likes