How to install a realtime kernel in Fedora Silverblue

Hi there good folks,

I’m wondering about the question in the title: how am I supposed to install a realtime kernel in Fedora Silverblue?

For now uname -a says: Linux [redacted] 5.17.11-300.fc36.x86_64 #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed May 25 15:04:05 UTC 2022 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux.

Tried to layer a rt kernel by rpm-ostree install kernel-rt (as one would do with dnf in regular Fedora), but says there’s no such package.

ALTERNATIVELY: is there a way to set up flags to my kernel so that it works like a realtime one?

Excuse me if questions are dumb, I’m a newbie and want to work on audio with Silverblue, which is why I’m asking for a rt kernel.

Regards,

• A
2 Likes

This is a difficult one to answer. RHEL and CentOS at least used to ship an RT kernel. I don’t know that Fedora ever did, but there was a 3rd party repo called PlanetCCRMA that I believe was out of Stanford that used to publish RT kernels for Fedora, but I don’t believe it’s active anymore. That said, the Linux kernel has changed a lot in recent years with scheduling such that some of the reasons for the RT kernel are no longer an issue for the mainline one. Between Fedora IoT and the new wireplumber stuff that can handle JACK, I suggest trying your stuff on the current standard Fedora kernel as you might be surprised at how well it does for RT use cases out of box now.

That said, you can also compile your own kernel for Fedora with PREEMPT. Here’s the guide to how to build a custom kernel. Just layer in the rpms from the output.

1 Like

While PlanetCCRMA’s homepage is outdated, it looks like they have f36 packages. Of course, use it at your own risk. I have no idea how well it’s maintained anymore since the last version they explicit supported was Fedora 30. Building your own kernel might be more sane, honestly.

http://ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/mirror/fedora/linux/planetccrma/36/x86_64/repoview/letter_p.group.html

2 Likes