Fedora docs design work

Greetings, docs people!

I’m a designer at Red Hat, and I’m part of the Workstation Working Group. I got interested in Fedora’s documentation a while back, and ended up spending some time looking at it from a design perspective. I thought that it was about time to share that work!

If you want to pursue any of these ideas, I’d be super enthustiastic about working with the docs team on them, but feel free to use this as you see fit.

The work I did had four parts:

1. a review of Fedora’s existing documentation,

2. a review of documentation sites belonging to other projects,

3. a set of design goals,

4. some tentative designs for updated docs sites.

The following is a quick summary of that work.

Fedora’s docs

Obviously there’s quite a range of documentation in Fedora. I found it insightful to analyse it according to a set of dimensions, including:

• ownership - does a page belong to a particular team or edition, or does it fall into a more general project-wide pool?
  • length of time that the docs are relevant - is a page specific to an event, initiative, or release, or does it have more long-lasting relevance?
  • size and structure of each piece of documentation- is it single or multi-page?
  • intended audience - is the audience users, the entire Fedora community, or a sub-set of that community?

The interesting thing about these dimensions is that they all have implications for how the docs might be designed. For example, a site which caters to short-term, transient, internal pages, would be different from one that only deals with long-term user docs. As a result, and with so many types of docs, I think that it’s worth focusing on certain types.

Relevant art research