Fedora 36 Jam spin boots to black screen and cursor

The title says pretty much everything needed. A cursory search shows that this KDE bug has been around in various forms for some time. I am currently unable to even get a proper boot of the installation media, to install on my computer, despite no errors when media is checked.

Basic computer specs:
Motherboard: AsusTek Prime Z390-A
Processor: 8-core Intel Core i9-9900KS Kaby Lake
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

2 Likes

I have the same issue with the KDE Plasma desktop spin.
I can get to a GUI by using [Troubleshooting → basic graphics mode]*. This is helpful but the resolution is off and only uses one monitor.
If I use the normal boot option and get to the black screen with a cursor I can press [ctrl]+[esc] to open the system monitor (again might be different name, I am new to linux), and then use that to launch the terminal. Both these open as windows with KDE theming and style, and have correct resolution and scaling on both monitors.
I found some info that I could install nvidia drivers, but the instructions start with a system update which I cannot complete due to lack of space on the usb partition. (usb is 32GB so that isn’t the limiting factor)

Hardware:
AMD Ryzen 5 5600X
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super

*Edit: I miss remembered the menu items so I updated to the correct terms.
Original: “the Troubleshooting menu and selecting the compatibility mode (might be a different name as I am getting that from memory)”

Sauce-man8: Even with basic graphics you can install the system? :slight_smile: After that you can install the proprietary nvidia driver if you wish