Fedora 34 KDE unable to suspend after nvidia driver update

Hi, I’ve been running Fedora 34 KDE for a couple of months with a Nvidia RTX 2060 and the proprietary nvidia driver. Today I updated the system(Ryzen 5 3600 desktop) which I do once or twice a week and it fetched among other things newer nvidia drivers, NVIDIA 470.63.01 to be exact and after a reboot the machine will not suspend. If I do like I’ve done for months:

systemctl suspend

The screen blinks once or twice and it seems as if it’s going to suspend but then doesn’t. It has always worked prior to today’s update.

Journal says:

aug 21 18:56:04 feds kernel: sd 3:0:0:0: [sdc] Stopping disk
aug 21 18:56:04 feds kernel: NVRM: GPU 0000:05:00.0: PreserveVideoMemoryAllocations module parameter is set. System Power Management attempted without driver procfs suspend interface. Please refer to the 'Configuring Power Management Support' section >
aug 21 18:56:04 feds kernel: PM: pci_pm_suspend(): nv_pmops_suspend+0x0/0x20 [nvidia] returns -5
aug 21 18:56:04 feds kernel: PM: dpm_run_callback(): pci_pm_suspend+0x0/0x160 returns -5
aug 21 18:56:04 feds kernel: nvidia 0000:05:00.0: PM: failed to suspend async: error -5`

The nvidia drivers were initially installed via

sudo dnf install https://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-$(rpm -E %fedora).noarch.rpm https://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fed
ora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-$(rpm -E %fedora).noarch.rpm

sudo dnf install akmod-nvidia
sudo dnf install xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-cuda
sudo dnf install xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-devel
(if it matters)

Any wisdom?

2 Likes

Saw 763129 – x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-460.27.04: Suspend mode is not working. via Gentoo Forums :: View topic - [Solved]Problem on sleep mentioning the same problem . Same solution was applicable, ie

NVreg_PreserveVideoMemoryAllocations=0

(in /usr/lib/modprobe.d/nvidia-power-management.conf on my system/Fedora)