Uninstalling programs

Hi! I’m new to fedora linux. I need help with uninstalling programs. I have some programs that I downloaded from terminal and wan’t to delete them (the programs I wan’t to delete are Microsoft Teams and GrapeJuice). I haven’t found a way to delete them. Can someone please help me?

1 Like

What commands did you use to install the software?

2 Likes

The teams i installed from the web. The grapejuice from github. Sorry I lied. I didn’t use terminal for them. I messed it up with some other programs.

Best idea might be to go back to the place where you found the installation instructions and check there for how to uninstall.

Well, Teams is available as an rpm package.
If you installed it that way, you should be able to run ‘sudo dnf remove teams’ to uninstall it.

As for grapejuice…
Well, honestly, I’ve never even heard of that.
Programs built/installed from github tend to be a bit of a pain to remove, depending on the specifics of the installation process.
Do you have a link to the instructions you followed?

1 Like

Still not answered these questions?

If you install packages, RPM, flatpak or any other format on other distributions, they are managed by the package manager, i.e. dnf / rpm-ostree or flatpak.

This is the easy way and on atomic variants the only way to install packages to the system.

As this is Linux, this is of course only one of dozens of ways to install stuff.

1. Just place an executable file in some folder (binary, appimages too). Put a .desktop entry in ~/.local/share/applications/ directing to that file in its Exec= line, and it will behave just like an installed program. To uninstall, you just remove the file and the .desktop entry.

2. compile code yourself using make and make install or an equivalent. This may be complicated to remove I think, but probably also possible. You may need the code you downloaded to find where make install put it.