Lightweight Fedora install

I am using the official Fedora KDE spin on my desktop PC. Since I mainly use the PC for browsing the web (including watching video content) and chatting with friends, it feels like a normal Fedora install is too bloated for me. My goal is to reinstall the system and have a more lightweight install so that the system does not run lots of unnecessary services and does not contain lots of packages that I never use.

I have read about Fedora Everything and its minimal install. As I understood it, I could perform a minimal install, then install a DE, necessary drivers, browser etc. In theory, this sounds quite easy, perhaps too easy…

Does this approach work or am I missing something? Will it be a lot harder than I think? Does the minimal install include what I need regarding security (firewall etc.) or do I need to install and configure such things manually? Are there better ways of achieving what I want? I am no expert but I am willing to learn so I really appreciate any help.

1 Like

Is it just disk space you are concerned about?
How small is your disk?
How small are you aiming for?

My test arm VM for f39 is only using 11GiB, is that too big?

Disk space is no concern at all, I simply want to have a less bloated system. Some reasons include (but not limited to) having more control over what is installed, increasing security and learning more about how Fedora works.

Do you have specific services or apps that you do not want installed?
Have you tried uninstalling them?

I am wondering if starting minimal and adding will be very hard to get right.
Also may end up in a similar place.

This is exactly what I came to post. I have done this for the “Forgotten PC Downstairs” people use/seldomly that is always connected to the internet but only serves 2 purposes. I think it’s the way to go for your use case.

1 Like