Can not get my keyboard to US English. it's stuck on Portuguese keyboard input!

When I installed Fedora 33, it was from a USB stick - a totally new install. I choose to install it in Portuguese, because I am studying that language.

I just installed Fedora 34, and I have a new problem. My keyboard is still in Portuguese mode, and certain characters are not available, such as the pipe key or the question mark or the backslash key (for starters).

What command or commands can I use so that my keyboard will revert to US English:

I tried /usr/bin/pkexec /usr/share/system-config-language/system-config-language.py,
but that didn’t affect the keyboard. I still get dialog boxes in Portuguese, too.

BryGuy

Which Desktop you use? Gnome?

1 Like

I should mention that this was in in place, dnf-oriented installation of Fedora 34. I was having the same problem with 33

please execute in terminal the following command:

hostnamectl
and past us the 2 lines:

Operating System: Fedora 34 (MATE-Compiz)
Kernel: Linux 5.11.18-300.fc34.x86_64
2 Likes

baz î‚° ~ î‚° hostnamectl
Static hostname: xclar2.baznet.net
Icon name: computer-desktop
Chassis: desktop
Machine ID: 053e2b77b9044f609c1eda1460a70c83
Boot ID: 088c7bb6ea61456e83605c74a0cd34fc
Operating System: Fedora 34 (Xfce)
CPE OS Name: cpe:/o:fedoraproject:fedora:34
Kernel: Linux 5.11.18-300.fc34.x86_64
Architecture: x86-64
Hardware Vendor: Dell Inc.
Hardware Model: OptiPlex 7010

Thatś the output to the command ḧostnamectl

In XFCE to revert to English you have to go to Applications >> Settings >> Language >> There you click on the language you want to change back. On the bottom you click on SystemDefault to make the selected language System Default. Of course you also have to select the English language and click OK. After log out and in again it should be English.

Applications >> Settings >> Keyboard >> Layout