AMD vs NVIDIA

So I am going to be shopping to build a new gaming desktop pretty soon. I’ve been using NVIDIA gpu for many years but running under Linux I have had many headaches. I have heard that there is better Linux support in AMD gpu than NVIDIA.
Is this true? Is AMD better than NVIDIA in Linux, particularly in Fedora?
If you use AMD, what has been your experience, both in everyday use and in gaming?

1 Like

Better is completely subjective.

Less headaches and manual intervention is certainly true, in most cases, with AMD graphics, vs NVIDIA graphics, on linux.

That being said, there are NVIDIA users on any number of linux distributions that are perfectly happy with their experience, and don’t seem to have issues (or at least they aren’t talking about whatever issues they may have)

I’d personally recommend AMD, just because there’s no need for third-party drivers for good performance.

I bought an AMD graphics card last year. Because of some issues, I switched from Nvidia RTX 3070 to AMD RX 7800 XT and I thought that buying an AMD graphics card would be the best solution for Linux. But if you want to buy such an AMD card, please be warned. Actually, there are some issues with this card also. Some distributions are not detecting the card, either because the kernel is too low or because the Linux firmware is too old.

I wasn’t able to install Debian 12.5 or Debian Testing, because of that. Also, latest kernel 6.7.4 has issues with that card. It doesn’t matter if you are using Fedora, Arch or another distribution. If you want to do a restart, the monitor is going to sleep, and you have to shut down the computer completely.

Yes, all of these issues will be fixed in the future … That’s what I hope. But there are a lot of Nvidia users having trouble and also AMD users with latest graphics cards are having trouble.