Problems with SELinux on Fedora 32

Hello.
I’m new to Fedora and trying it out (for switching to Btrfs by default), I currently use Ubuntu on all my Desktops.
But I immediately found some problems that I don’t have on Ubuntu, Debian, openSUSE and other distros, that is SELinux: I cannot create folders on the home skeleton “/etc/skel” to have the configurations for all new users created, I cannot create Btrfs subvolumes.
The only solution is to deactivate SELinux or learn how to use it, which is not really ideal for a new user, albeit a bit advanced like me where I like to customize some parts of the system.
I am wondering at this point if a security system like SELinux forces you to disable it, maybe there is something wrong.
Or maybe I’m doing something wrong?

Hello @emanuc,
I am uncertain from your description what may be the issue. However I would point out that I never make any changes to SELinux and leave it setup as default, so enforcing. Also, I have never learned anything but the most basic things about SELinux, didn’t need to it doesn’t get in the way ever. I am using BTRFS on Fedora rawhide, no problem . You may need to use sudo to modify anything in /etc directory.

1 Like

Thanks for answering and sorry if I was not very clear in explaining my problem, I try to explain better.
Problem 1: When I create new users, I would like all configurations of user 1 to apply also to user 2, to do this, in the case of GNOME, I move the various user configuration folders to (.config/dconf, .local/share/gnome-shell/) /etc/skel.
With SELinux enabled, when I create a new user it doesn’t create my /etc/skel folder configurations, when I disable SELinux the folder configurations on /etc/skel work.

ls -al /etc/skel
totale 12
drwxr-xr-x. 1 root root 106 21 ago 22.04 .
drwxr-xr-x. 1 root root 4694 23 ago 12.05 …
-rw-r–r--. 1 root root 18 2 giu 14.42 .bash_logout
-rw-r–r--. 1 root root 141 2 giu 14.42 .bash_profile
-rw-r–r--. 1 root root 376 2 giu 14.42 .bashrc