Is my username the root?

Hi, I am new to Linux and just installed Fedora 36 workstation.
I hear that I should see “root” but what I see instead in my command is [myname@fedora ~]$.
Is this “myname” supposed to be the root of the system?
Thanks so much in advance.

That is your home directory. It is where you start and where you will likely need to be most of the time.

The root of the system is at / and you can switch there with the command cd /

That being said, is there something you are trying to accomplish that we can help you with?

The “root” userid/role is often referred to as the “superuser”, a role that has the special privileges not needed for normal day-to-day activities and thus is to be used with caution. You seldom need to use the “root” userid role, instead using the “sudo” command to temporarily gain access to that privilege level.
But I hope that “myname” isn’t literally what you see … when you installed Fedora and said your name was James Lee, it should have created a userid for you of “jlee” or such. And then when you log in as “jlee”, you have normal user privileges and a home directory of your own.
So perhaps this “I hear that I should see ‘root’” is a misunderstanding.
Make sense?

Thanks so much for replying. That’s good enough for now for me!

I am just following some beginner command line tutorials I found online… I don’t have specific task to accomplish at the moment haha…

2 Likes

Oh that was just an example. My username is james. Thanks so much for explanation. It makes perfect sense.

d9b9f840171e6dc19ee492e279cff25b118b73fd.png

Hey, just one more question. So here I am trying to get to “grub2” folder. I am not going to alter anything there I just wanted to move around in directories and see if I can get an access by using sudo.

I entered password properly as required, but it does not take me to the “grub2” directory and I am wondering what I am missing…