How to Speed up Fedora 36 suitable for coding

Hello
I am new to linux distributions and want to speed up my laptop for coding with upgrading any internal hardware.

I have 64-bit Fedora 36 Workstation on my asus laptop with configuration:

Model = ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. X555LA
RAM = 4GB
CPU = Intel® Core™ i3-4030U × 4
HDD = 512GB
GPU = Mesa Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (HSW GT2)

I basically want to run vs code with flutter , Next JS, Node JS, React Native and Java.

I even have problem that when I run brave browser while using vs code, vs code silently gets closed while I was Using Brave Browser.

I request to please give explanation and complete guidance as I am new to linux system

Thanks For helping me in advance

This machine is quite old (~ 8 years ?), and rather “low-speced”.

If you really want to invest money in it, upgrade RAM to at least 8GB and upgrade the HDD to an SSD.

Don’t know how your budget looks like and how the second-hand market is where you are based, but maybe it could be worth investing a bit more and buy a newer machine.

I am pretty sure some programs get closed because you run into an out-of-memory condition, see https://discussion.fedoraproject.org/t/fedora-36-silently-kills-apps-in-the-background/67602

3 Likes

I would agree, with the additional RAM probably giving you the largest payback. The tool set you are wanting to use will tend to want lots of memory.

2 Likes

Your major limitation there is obviously RAM. So finding a way to use less of it would be your obvious route. You could just work through all the major software components you’re using and trim as much as possible: