How to file a bug?

Hi everyone,
I’m new to Fedora but have quiet some experience with other Linux distros /communities. And here comes the story of my first bug in this community.

More then three weeks ago I filed a bug since a combination of golang packages can not be installed on Fedora 36 anymore. See 2109630 – Can not install the components golang-github-prometheus-common-devel and golang-github-prometheus-common-promlog-devel the same time

But no reaction on this since then. No request for more details, no thanks for the bug or whatever.

So I start to ask myself, was this the right way to report the issue?
Can somebody tell me what I did wrong, or if this is just the normal way this community handles this?

Thanks for your thoughts
Imker

2 Likes

It really varies by the package maintainer. Some are very quick to reply to Bugzilla reports, others aren’t. We get 10–20k bug reports per release, so unfortunately there’s not a great way to keep on top of things at a project-wide level. (I wish there were!)

I’m not familiar with packaging in the go ecosystem, but I at least have found a clue. I updated the bug and requested more info from the person who did the builds. Hopefully this helps. I’m sorry I don’t have a better general solution for you.

4 Likes

To add to what Ben notes: reporting the bug is the right thing to do, but yes, it varies by maintainer. Most of us maintainers are volunteers, so all of our Fedora work is done in whatever time we can find after work etc. Depending on how many packages we maintain and how much time we have to work on them, this often means that we prioritise certain tasks over others.