GTK4 + Rust Development with Silverblue (Noob here!)

Hello all,
I’ve always wanted to make desktop GUI apps, so I’ve decided to learn with Rust + GTK4.
Will be following this book (which looks hella promising): https://gtk-rs.org/gtk4-rs/git/book/prerequisites.html
Do you guys have any recommendations for the setup?
It recommends VSCodium, so I’ll probably be using that.
At the moment I have Rust and Cargo installed as layered packages, but it might be better for me to set up a toolbox aye?
Is there a special way you guys recommend I do this?
Just toolbox create and then sudo dnf install rust cargo
Please let me know if you have any opinions or advice on the matter.
I want my development environment to be really comfy

Okay, serious question, and my first roadblock.

I set up a new toolbox and installed gtk, rust and cargo.

How do I get VSCodium set up to be working with that toolbox?

Check this thread out https://discussion.fedoraproject.org/t/toolbox-and-visual-studio-code-remote-containers/27987

2 Likes

The link that @jakfrost posted definitely will help you get to to a “really comfy” environment. You’ll need, unfortunately, to use the official Microsoft builds of Visual Studio Code rather than VSCodium - since the “Remote Containers” extension only works with the offiical builds.

(If you are looking for something fully open source, GNOME Builder should also work pretty well for GTK+ development with rust, and might even be better set up for things often used with GTK like GtkBuilder, Meson, etc. But I haven’t tried that combination yet.)

1 Like

Will give the link a try! Is the official microsoft build one I’d have to build from source or is it on flathub?

It’s on Flathub. My script will prompt to install it if it is missing on your system.

1 Like

That’s really cool, will give it a shot now :slight_smile:

Should I be installing code in the flatpak for this?

➜  rustlings git:(main) ✗ code .
zsh: command not found: code