Thoughts on Silverblue

Hi Fedora Community,

I’m fairly new to Linux and I’ve recently jumped in to Silverblue 30 as my daily driver and it has been a pleasant experience so far.

I was able to setup my web development tools pretty easily (with podman replacing docker).
Flatpak apps also works seamlessly with the exception for code editors/IDE’s which needs to use some of the host’s binaries. Though using ‘flatpak-spawn’ does the trick for me, it would be great if this limitation is addressed (If it is already addressed, please enlighten me :slight_smile:).

I also encountered an issue with Flatpak where some newly installed app (from Flathub) does not open unless I logout and login back.

I also had another issue when it comes to updates. I have already disabled the automatic updates in Gnome Software but It seems that updates are still being automatically downloaded in the background whenever I boot up. I see “Transaction: upgrade (download only)” from ‘rpm-ostree status’. I know I can do rpm-ostree cancel but it would be great if I can turn it off completely.

Nonetheless, Silverblue has been great as my daily driver.
I really do think that this is the future of Linux Desktop :slight_smile: because it is “Beginner Friendly” in my opinion.
Looking forward to more sweet features in the future!

1 Like

Unfortunately there probably will never be a perfect solution to this… What I want to do is write a VS Code extension that will have options to automatically set some of this stuff up.

I’ve seen some other comments about this, it’s a bit odd… Does it happen if you install via system or user installs, or both?

Hmm this should be controlled by Software, have you rebooted since you last disabled it?

Great to have you here!

1 Like

If you are using a metered connection, you might also want to restrict background downloads in the network configuration.