Increase disk space

hello, I am new to fedora and just installed it on my raspberry pi. I noticed, that the / partition is just about 5,4G. How can I increase that? :confused:

lsblk
NAME            MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINTS
sda               8:0    0 238,5G  0 disk
├─sda1            8:1    0   600M  0 part /boot/efi
├─sda2            8:2    0     1G  0 part /boot
└─sda3            8:3    0   5,4G  0 part
  └─fedora-root 253:0    0   5,4G  0 lvm  /
zram0           252:0    0   7,6G  0 disk [SWAP]

Actually it looks like that, the sda is a 256GB NVMe and I want to increase the root partition. thx in advance!

so long

edit: xfs is being used.

There are many ways. I would boot from a live linux image USB device that includes some GUI partitioning tool (I think gparted is the easiest) and then use that tool to increase the partition size (and automatically increase the fs size inside the partition).

If you use command line tools, I think increasing the fs size will be a separate step after increasing the partition size.

lvm adds some extra flexibility to the process (more choices about how you add space). But I’m pretty sure the xfs has to be unmounted in order to extend it, so I think booting from usb is still required, in which case the extra flexibility of lvm doesn’t help you and is best ignored.

BTW, I actually use a live KDE spin of Fedora, which doesn’t include gparted, but I find such tasks enough simpler with gparted that I install gparted in the running live system and then use it, even though it will be gone again on the next reboot. If your live linux image doesn’t include the GUI partitioning tool you use, installing it before use is an easy extra step.

thank you, due using the client headless I would prefer a cli tool. I am confused because sda3 also has 5,4G. thx

sda3 is partition3 on device sda. fedora-root is your logical volume on sda3.

you can run sudo lvs, sudo lvdisplay fedora_root and sudo pvs to learn more.