Fedora 35 freezing on VirtualBox

Hi all, this is my first post on this forum: great new user experience! I’m new to Fedora, but not to Linux (started with CentoOS 6 and recently decided to make the jump to Fedora). Definitely not an expert, though.

About a week ago, 35 started freezing randomly - not during boot, as many have experienced, but just whilst using it. I’ve done lots of searching, and found no common theme that could explain it. Hopefully the good folks on this forum can help :smiling_face:

First, the basic setup:

Hardware
HP Envy x360 (2021)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 (5000 Series)
Display: AMD Radeon
RAM: 16 GB

Hypervisor & VM
VirtualBox v6.1.34 r150636 (Qt5.6.2)
2 vCPUs
4 GB RAM
Chipset: PIIX3
I/O APIC enabled
EFI disabled
Hardware clock in UTC time
PAE/NX not enabled
Nested VTx/AMD-V option not available
Video memory: 128 MB (the max configurable)
Graphics controller: VMSVGA
3D Acceleration disabled

OS (excerpted from fpaste’s output)

=== fpaste 0.4.2.0 System Information ===
* OS Release (cat /etc/*-release | uniq):
     VERSION_CODENAME=""
     PRETTY_NAME="Fedora Linux 35 (Workstation Edition)"
     ANSI_COLOR="0;38;2;60;110;180"

* Kernel (uname -r ; cat /proc/cmdline):
     5.17.4-200.fc35.x86_64
     BOOT_IMAGE=(hd0,msdos1)/vmlinuz-5.17.4-200.fc35.x86_64 root=UUID=3e03df59-47e7-4419-9d7a-a5ad2d0f2493 ro rootflags=subvol=root rhgb quiet

* Desktop(s) Running (ps -eo comm= | grep -E '(gnome-session|startkde|startactive|xfce.?-session|fluxbox|blackbox|hackedbox|ratpoison|enlightenment|icewm-session|od-session|wmaker|wmx|openbox-lxde|openbox-gnome-session|openbox-kde-session|mwm|e16|fvwm|xmonad|sugar-session|mate-session|lxqt-session|cinnamon|lxdm-session)' ):
     gnome-session-b
     gnome-session-c
     gnome-session-b

* Desktop(s) Installed (ls -m /usr/share/xsessions/ | sed 's/\.desktop//g' ):
     gnome-classic, gnome, gnome-xorg

Next, the symptoms: