Did fedora have any feature like time travel?

Did fedora have any feature like time travel like moving back to initial state or to default state or installed state by deleting all external installed third party software like node,git …etc without removing content in home folder.

That would certainly be a market changing feature. :exploding_head:

Have you looked at Fedora silverblue at all? It is built around that concept.

I am not really an expert but here are some ideas depending on what you are trying to accomplish:

• dnf can undo specific transactions
  • Software such as timeshift can be used to take snapshots
  • A filesystem with snapshot support like btrfs can be used to take periodic or specific snapshots that can be reverted
4 Likes

Generally, if your /home folder resides on a separate partition (which I think it always does on a default install, but you can check to be sure), you can do what you like to your system, up to and including completely deleting & reinstalling it, and it will not touch your /home data. So if you’re looking for a ‘full reset’-type thing, that would likely be the easiest option.

If you’re looking to ‘undo’ software installation, then you can use dnf as @dalto suggested. Generally, the package manager is very good at keeping track of installed files - it knows about every file it ever installed on a system, and so can always cleanly remove it.

sudo dnf remove <package>

will (obviously) remove the software and all files created during installation.

sudo dnf autoremove

will remove any so-called leaf packages, that is packages that were originally installed because another package needed them, but are no longer needed.

Using dnf to ‘reset’ your system this way is fairly clean, the difference before & after will be backups of systemwide config files (only if you changed them), log files and anything the software stored in your home directory. None of those would have any influence on your running system.