What is the Silverblue installation recommendation with 2 internal drives?

My personal computer is a Dell 27 7775 AIO with a 256GB NVMe drive, and a 1TB HDD built in (currently running Debian 11 testing). I have been trying out Silverblue on a laptop and I now would like to do a clean install on my personal computer.
I know the documentation for Silverblue recommends Automatic partitioning, but have also come across guidance that suggests this is not recommended with btrfs across the 2 drives (though I have not come across why, or what the problem with that would be).

So, my questions are, 1. Would I be ok letting the automatic partitioner do its thing? or
2. If not, what would the recommended configuration be (and how to achieve that)?

-I’m not new to Linux (low-moderate experience), but I am new to btrfs

Thanks for any guidance/advice you can provide!

1 Like

There are two parts here… “What is the recommended configuration?”, and “How do you achieve that?”. I’ll give my opinion on both.

What is the recommended configuration?

For performance reasons the HDD will not be great for day-to-day general usage. I would suggest that you plan to use the NVMe “by default”, and punt only specific things to the HDD where you don’t mind the performance drop or you simply don’t have the NVMe capacity.

Think about what data you have that you don’t need fast access to. Media collections or backups might be a good candidate here, and consider moving only those to the HDD.

It would not be worth having both drives in the same btrfs filesystem, as the performance and capacity disparities will lead to the worst of both worlds. You either enable “raid1” profile and then are limited to the capacity of the smaller drive, or you enable “single” profile and btrfs will fill the “emptiest” disk first (ie the HDD) leading to poor performance. Instead, create seaparate filesystems on your drives and treat them separately.

How do you achieve that?