Toolbox wishlist item - similar to rebase a toolbox

Every 6 months I find myself installing and configuring all the stuff I had in the previous toolbox (F35) into the new toolbox (F36). In my mind it would be great to be able to do something similar to re-basing (or update) everything that was in the old toolbox to the new one. I would propose something like this in the shell:

$ toolbox create -rebase f35 # update everything in f35, put it in current toolbox f36

I am a hobby C++ programmer and I like to be up to date with compilers, IDE’s and other tools, I find it a little tedious to reinstall and reconfigure all the tools after doing a major revision upgrade of the OS (Kinoite). One of the motivations is to have the latest compiler, and I do sometimes build compilers from source, but it would be better to upgrade the whole lot at once.

I am not sure if it possible to do something like this with podman?

Thanks in advance for any help or discussion, Cheers :smile:

3 Likes

Any container can be defined in a Containerfile/Dockerfile, so just change the first line from FROM fedora-toolbox:35 to FROM fedora-toolbox:36 and rebuild. I have a ~/Toolbox folder with my Containerfile and scripts to build or rebuild the image. The rebuild script just stops and removes the container, deletes the image and calls the build script.

That also means I can add software without having to worry about bloat, I can just dump the image and rebuild it from the file to get rid of extra junk that I added to run a single command or build someone’s project. It’s like using nix except that it doesn’t pin package versions by default and doesn’t involve an entirely new language.

I think this qualifies as “rebasing” because container images are based on layers so when you edit the FROM line it requires rebuilding every subsequent layer. But on Silverblue you’ll still have the same /home/$USER and /etc so it’s a smooth workflow.

2 Likes

Hi porphyrogene,