Tips on how to keep OS clean

hello, I’m fairly new to Linux, coming from Windows, CCleaner was my weekly ritual. I tried the same routine with Bleachbit on Fedora a few months back. I erased crucial parts of the system and had to reinstall the OS.

now I’m super cautious, but my system still needs occasional cleaning. I’d really appreciate it if you guys could share how you safely use Bleachbit or similar tools on your system and what’s your cleaning routine :slight_smile:

I have never needed to “keep the os clean” on fedora.
Removing packages with dnf had always been clean by design.
What are you expecting this to achieve?

3 Likes

Hi, I would recommenced to use silverblue it is a lot less likely to be damaged by not knowing what can be removed, because main system files are immutable (read only).
Sometimes to remove flatpak packages that are no longer needed I run this command:
flatpak remove --unused
and that is it.

In over 20 years using linux, and fedora specifically, I have never encountered a need to ‘clean’ the OS. What are you seeing that implies it needs cleaned? and what are you trying to achieve?

1 Like

On Windows, many useful 3rd party programs come with installers that include libraries they need. You can quickly end up with multiple copies and different versions of these 3rd party libraries. Windows makes it a priority to continue supporting older software. At one time it was a lottery which version of the 3rd party library would be used, but now there are better mechanisms to ensure that a program uses the appropriate version of a library.