RMS is the past. Fedora is building the future

Nearly 30 years ago I read a book named “Hackers: Heroes of the computer revolution” by Steven Levy. I was a teenager then, into programming- self taught, a loner. And this book, this amazing book, was a tome of Stories Of My People. I didn’t know I had people, but here they were: at MIT and CalTech, starting in the 1950s, obsessively pushing computers as far as they could go. Suddenly I knew that I was not alone in this world, that there were others like me. The book’s stories ran through the early 1980s, when it was originally published. The last chapter in the book is titled “The last of the true hackers” and it’s about Richard Stallman.

The title carries many meanings, it’s actually RMS’s verbatim personal lament about himself in the early 80s. The chapter describes a talented, pedantic programmer obsessed with halting the decline of MIT’s hacker culture, doing everything in his power to subvert people using computers in any other way than the way he thought was right. When he lost his ability to force his opinions on others he began to reimplement their software on his own and give it away (giving it away was part of hacker culture). “Stallman had no illusions that his act would significantly improve the world at large. He had come to accept that the domain around the AI lab had been permanently polluted. He was out to cause as much damage to the culprit (proprietary software) as he could”. Soon after he left MIT with a plan to write a UNIX clone and give it away so he could “continue to use computers without violating his principles”.