Radeon drivers, Fedora 34 & Wayland

Hi there,

I have an older amdgpu (radeon 5830) that is currently appearing to be unsupported by the Fedora 34 kernel. When I attempted to do a fresh install, it appeared that the gpu was not discovered after init processes and I was faced with a black screen. I removed the gpu and installed just fine.

Now my question is-- how can I get this thing working with Wayland? Will I need to build myself a custom kernel or does Fedora provide binaries for this kind of thing? A lot of the guides I’m seeing are oriented toward X systems. I’m new to Fedora but no stranger to Linux tinkering.

Please let me know if there’s any more info I can provide. Thanks!

I found an old post that stated that adding radeon.dpm=0 to the kernel command line would get HD 5800 series cards to work:

https://discussion.fedoraproject.org/t/how-to-install-amd-drivers-on-fedora/62706/6?u=glb

P.S. I don’t think editing grubenv is the right way to adjust the kernel options with grub. I think you are suppose to either use grubby or edit /etc/default/grub and run grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg (or /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/grub.cfg if on a UEFI system).

3 Likes

If you need more info about dpm, check ATI - ArchWiki section about Powersaving.

@glb I think you’re right about the editing part, but it did the trick back then. :+1: