MacBook Pro doesn't boot after installing broadcom-wl

Hi everyone.

I am new to Fedora and wanted to give it a try on an old MacBook Pro I use for these kinds of things.

Before Fedora, I had EndeavourOS (from Arch Linux) installed and that worked well, although there also I had to make a great effort to get my Wi-Fi card working (and Nvidia drivers always made it crash, so I didn’t bother with those anymore).

Anyways, I wanted to try out Fedora and here I am. My Wi-Fi wasn’t working and I found that I had to install the RPM Fusion Free/Nonfree packages in order to download and install kmod-wl and/or broadcom-wl, which I did.

After I installed broadcom-wl the first time I couldn’t boot. Tried the same with kmod-wl and then couldn’t boot either (I saw while installing that broadcom-wl was installed also). I get the following message:

You are in emergency mode. After logging in, type “journalctl -xb” to view system logs, “systemctl reboot” to reboot, “systemctl default” or “exit” to boot into default mode.
Cannot open access to console, the root account is locked.
See sulogin(8) man page for more details.
Press enter to continue.

Has anyone any answers to this? Or is my MacBook generally unsuited for Linux?

You might try to remove kmod-wl then install akmod-wl so the system builds the module itself.

As you can tell, by default, the root account has no password assigned and is locked. That can be fixed by booting normally then use sudo passwd root to assign a password to the root account so users can then log in to the emergency mode.

If unable to boot to normal mode but you do get the grub menu the user can use e to edit the grub info and on the line that begins with linux remove the rhgb quiet and add init=/bin/bash and then continue booting with ctrl-X. After booting the system should be in text mode, single user, as root and recovery can be attempted from there. (including adding a passwd to the root account if desired.)