Join Us: Design Team Sessions Live!

Originally published at: Join Us: Design Team Sessions Live! – Fedora Community Blog

Just before the Christmas holidays, you may have participated in one of three impromptu live design sessions / video chats I held. In the first session, a group of Fedorans did a critique on one of the Fedora 34 wallpaper mockups. In the second session, another group of us did a collaborative design session for a custom Fedora Discourse theme. In the last session, we did a live digital painting session.

This was part of an experiment to see if there would be enough interest and to generally test out the concept of holding a regular Fedora video chat meetup. Due to the ongoing pandemic, and the fact that it started just as I was returning from maternity leave, the Fedora Design Team never resumed our regular IRC/Matrix text chat meetups, and I was looking to see if we could be a bit more creative (I mean design is a creative pursuit 🙂 ) in how we chose to sync up.

I think the experiment was a success, so we will be holding these in a less-haphazard way on a regular schedule, and calling them “Fedora Design Team Sessions Live.”

Meeting Details

Our inaugural session will be, well, coincidentally the date of the upcoming US Presidential Inauguration – January 20th, 2021 at 19:00 UTC. (See timezone conversion chart or check out table below.)

A Fedocal event for these meetings is available.

Location Time Offset
UTC 19:00 / 7 PM UTC
Boston (EST) 14:00 / 2 PM UTC-5
Arizona (MST) 1 PM UTC-7
Israel (IST) 21:00 / 9 PM UTC+2
Prague (CET) 20:00 / 8 PM UTC+1
Moscow (MSK)
Nairobi (EAT)
22:00 / 10 PM UTC +3
Kolkata (IST) 0:30 / 12:30 AM UTC + 5:30
Phnom Penh (ICT) 2 AM UTC + 7
Timezone conversion table

Meeting Cadence

We plan to hold these sessions fortnightly, so the second session would be February 3rd, the third session would be February 17, so on and so forth.

I will send reminders the day before to the Fedora Design Team list and also provide an opportunity for anyone interested in bringing some work for critique or wanting to cover a specific topic to raise it before the meeting. Otherwise, we’ll fall back to backup content (typically current Design Team tickets or work items.)

Meeting Recording Policy

I’d like to keep these meetings informal, so I am proposing we make the recording available only until the next live meeting, at which time the recording of the old meeting will be deleted. This is hopefully a reasonable mix of allowing folks who cannot make it live the ability to participate while keeping some informality level to the meeting since it’s not meant to be a permanent record.

Meeting Platform

We’ll be using Jitsi, an open source video chat platform, for these meetings. Our official chat channel, #fedora-design:matrix.org, has this Jitsi meeting linked to it, or you can visit the same Jitsi session outside of Matrix using the Jitsi link.

Firefox is the recommended browser to use with Jitsi, except if you have multiple monitors and intend to screenshare. In that case, use Chromium or Chrome for the best experience with Jitsi.

Note: The links above will change after Fedora migrates to our upcoming new element.io server.

Meeting Safety

I intend to maintain a laid-back / chill but also a super-respectful, calm, encouraging, and safe environment. All of the Fedora code of conduct rules apply and I have zero qualms about enforcing them to keep this event highly-inclusive and safe for all.

We hope to see you there!

You can use the handy-dandy video meeting launcher below to hop into the session at the appointed time. 🙂

VIDEO MEETING LAUNCHER

Design Team Sessions Live

Use the link below to join the live video call at the scheduled time.

5 Likes

Do we have a recording of the last session? :pray:

I’m interesting in the ask-fedora one :pray:

Regards.,

We don’t. :frowning: Jitsi apparently doesn’t have built in recording. I am going to try to record with OBS this time.

Here’s today’s session, the recording will expire in 2w:

1 Like

Here is today’s session, the recording will expire in 2 weeks.

1 Like

Hi!

Thanks to everyone who joined the video session last week! The recording is available here, and will expire in 2 weeks to give anybody who missed the session a chance to catch up:

Here are the tickets we talked about in case you’d like to revisit any of them: #743 Titles / Animations / Visual Styling for How Do You Fedora video series #741 Color recommendations for interfaces (i3 SIG related issue) #707 Fedora F35 Artwork Cheers! ~m

(Attachment Attached Message Part is missing)

1 Like

Here is the video meeting we had yesterday in case you would like to catch up:

This video will be publicly posted until the next meeting so if you want to check it out do so before the next meeting :slight_smile:

What we covered:

We devoted the entire hour to a review of Outreachy applicant work in the Fedora Design queue, including:

The next meeting is scheduled for April 28th.

1 Like

Here is the latest Design Team Sessions Live video:

1 Like

I have the meeting video from May 12 available but we hide the old version when we post new. If you would like access though I can let you have temp access just let me know.

Here is the meeting video from May 26:

We are looking at changing the schedule for these. See
https://lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/design-team@lists.fedoraproject.org/thread/VM42LZEHYCVA7SS53TBQFIDRI25DSVUF/

Copy/pasting for convenience:

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I’ve had to cancel a number of the Design Team Live video calls since the
school year started here due to the timing of my kids’ pickup from school.
I heard from a number of you that we were well due for an update in
schedule anyway as folks’ schedules have changed and the time has become
harder to make.

Here is a whenisgood I set up for the event. I filled it out for the next
three weeks. Please set your timezone first, then select the times that
would work best for you. Make sure to leave your name as well so I know who
can make which times!

http://whenisgood.net/FedoraDesign-Sep2021

I also had an idea to consider -

We’ve been doing these as 1 hour long meetings every 2 weeks. Would half
hour long every week be better? Do you have a preference?

Looking forward to meeting again soon :slight_smile: I’ll close the results on Thursday
unless a really good time on Wed or Thurs itself emerges in the meanwhile
so we could meet this week.

2 Likes

We are now meeting every week for 30 minutes at a new time. The Community Blog post has all the updated details:

For convenience:

Meeting Details

Our inaugural session will be, well, coincidentally the date of the upcoming US Presidential Inauguration – January 20th, 2021 at 19:00 UTC . (See timezone conversion chart or check out table below.)

A Fedocal event for these meetings is available.

Location Time Offset
UTC 18:30 / 6:30 PM UTC
Boston (EST) 13:30 / 1:30 PM UTC-5
Arizona (MST) 12:30 PM UTC-7
Israel (IST) 20:30 / 8:30 PM UTC+2
Prague (CET) 19:30 / 7:30 PM UTC+1
Moscow (MSK)
Nairobi (EAT) 21:30 / 9:30 PM UTC +3
Kolkata (IST) 0:00 / 12:00 AM UTC + 5:30
Phnom Penh (ICT) 1:30 AM UTC + 7

The recording of our first meeting at this time is available here:

All future meetings will be livestreamed and recordings available afterwards on the Fedora Design Team Sessions channel here on the LinuxRocks PeerTube channel:

Here is a link to the recording of today’s Design Team meeting:

This link will be live for the next 2 weeks to allow everyone a chance to play it, after which point it will be taken down.

Meeting summary:

In this meeting, Mo and Madeline talk over logistics for the just-launched Fedora 36 wallpaper inspiration poll Madeline set up - she has officially kicked off the F36 wallpaper process! :slight_smile: [You should all have an email now inviting you to vote - if you do not receive the email please let me know!]

Mo also talked through some super-early mockups of a new Fedora website design.

Ryan Gorley also dropped by and Mo gave him a tour of the new Pen Pot app (penpot.app) which is an open source wireframing tool that seems pretty nice :slight_smile: