Installing and running Consul on CoreOS

I’m new to Fedora CoreOS but actually wrote some of the original documentation for installing on physical machines in 2014 when it was just CoreOS)and I am working on an FCCT config to run HashiCorp Consul on EC2 with Terraform. Since I am using the provided Fedora CoreOS AMI and Terraform, I am trying to keep everything in Terraform and not build a custom AMI to keep everything simple.

My FCCT is performing the following tasks:

1. Uses the storage.files to download the binary from HashiCorp releases
  2. Runs a container to unzip the Consul file as FCOS does not have unzip available
  3. Sets some permissions (maybe this should be setting up SELinux properly)
variant: fcos
version: 1.2.0
passwd:
  users:
    - name: core
      groups: [sudo, docker]
      ssh_authorized_keys:
        - "thekey"
    - name: consul
      system: true
      home_dir: /etc/consul.d
      shell: /bin/false
systemd:
  units:
    - name: install-consul.service
      enabled: true
      contents: |
        [Unit]
        Before=consul.service
        After=network-online.target docker.service
        ConditionPathExists=!/usr/local/bin/consul

[Service]
        Type=oneshot
        ExecStart=/usr/local/bin/install-consul.sh
        RemainAfterExit=yes

[Install]
        WantedBy=consul.service
    - name: consul.service
      enabled: true
      contents: |
        [Unit]
        Description="HashiCorp Consul - A service mesh solution"
        Documentation=https://www.consul.io/
        Requires=network-online.target
        After=network-online.target
        Wants=install-consul.service
        ConditionFileNotEmpty=/etc/consul.d/consul.hcl

[Service]
        Type=notify
        ExecStart=/usr/local/bin/consul agent -config-dir=/etc/consul.d/
        ExecReload=/bin/kill --signal HUP $MAINPID
        KillMode=process
        KillSignal=SIGTERM
        Restart=on-failure
        LimitNOFILE=65536

[Install]
        WantedBy=multi-user.target