How to fix yum. I can run 'yum install ' or 'yum upgrade 'after lastest system upgrade

I’m a beginner at Fedora.My system is fedora39.Yesterday, i run ‘yum update’ .After I rebooted system.But I can run ‘yum update’ or ‘yum install xxx’ command anymore. Errors happen, and message like:

How can I fix it?
My system information is :

Yum is not used anymore, use dnf.

Do a dnf -h and see if sudo dnf autoremove or others may help fix some things.

And it looks like you have some python errors, no idea here apart from removing python and using venvs with pipx instead.

Please share the output of rpm -qa | grep dnf

output is:

1 Like

It seems like that dnf also goes wrong:

It seems that some python script goes wrong. But I dont know why. I didn’t change python config.My python is 3.12.1:

That’s more-or-less what I expected. It seems your last update was interrupted somehow and the old packages weren’t removed. Worse still, based on the error you’re seeing, it appears that at least one of the new packages wasn’t even unpacked.

Please confirm that there are also duplicate versions of python3-hawkey (rpm -qa | grep hawkey). If so, you can try:

sudo rpm -e libdnf-0.72.0-1.fc39.x86_64 python3-libdnf-0.72.0-1.fc39.x86_64 python3-hawkey-0.72.0-1.fc39.x86_64

I’m not sure if rpm will let you do that. If not, you can add --nodeps. This will may break dnf completely, but it’s already broken …

If dnf fails after that (with a different error), you’ll need to reinstall the new packages so that they’re properly installed. You can download the packages from koji. Match the filenames exactly to below, and then:

sudo rpm --reinstall libdnf-0.73.0-1.fc39.x86_64.rpm python3-libdnf-0.73.0-1.fc39.x86_64.rpm python3-hawkey-0.73.0-1.fc39.x86_64.rpm

If dnf works after that, you can run sudo dnf remove --duplicates to clean up any remaining duplicate packages.

P.S. Text is better than a screenshot of text; I can’t copy and paste from a screenshot.

1 Like