How Expand Fedora Partition

Hi everyone I premise that I am fairly new to the linux world

having a dual boot installation with Windows now I would like to take space away from windows to add it to Fedora I started a Live USB with gparted I unlogged 50GB from the Windows partition but I couldn’t extend fedora being that I have the boot partition in the way and I don’t know how it works now to expand, if anyone can help me I would be grateful. Thanks in advance. PS My Laptop: ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Added gparted and removed wayland

Welcome to Fedora @complexdev

I think best would be when you boot with a live Iso/usb. So your partition is not used from the system you boot from. Gparted should be available on the live iso. If not install it.

The rest should be similar as shrinking a partition. Click on the specific partition and expand it. Just watch that you not create a new partition, otherwise your system will not boot because of unknown partition names.

So I already tried with Gparted from live usb but once I shrink the Windows partition if I try to do resize/move on the fedora partition(63GB) it doesn’t let me move everything to the left it’s like it doesn’t detect the space unllocated I think the problem is that in between the unallocated partition and the fedora partition there is the 1GB ext4 boot partition

This must be done in stages.

1. reduce the size of the windows partition (you said this is already done)
  2. move the boot partition (/boot) to the beginning of the now open space
  3. Expand the root partition (btrfs) into the space now open between /boot and the btrfs partition.

You cannot expand a partition that would then span space already allocated to another partition, but you can relocate partitions, one step at a time, in the proper order

Ok I’m starting to understand thx one small question how do I move that partition with gparted, if possible a step by step explanation