How Can I Perform P2V Conversion On Linux Fedora Workstation 39

Hi, a complete newbie here. I’ve installed Linux Fedora a couple days ago and so far I’m enjoying it.

I’ve already run into a bunch of problems as I learn how the entire structure works.

There’s a steep learning curve for sure, that’s why I figured it might be a good idea to convert the entire physical system into a virtual machine so that I can create multiple virtual environments that are good for testing and without losing any data.

The answers on the web didn’t satisfy me that’s why I decided to reach out for your help.

Certainly, there are plenty of ways to do that I can use VMware or Starwind but I would like to do it natively and by using free open source software. The problem is, I can’t find anyone talk about it…

Thank you.

What physical machine do you want to turn into a VM?

If its a Fedora instance then its easier to install a fresh instance and sync user files or mount user files into the VM. I do this a lot to have instances of Fedora that run different versions of Fedora for example.

For Windows instance it would be hard to do this, but you would run into licensing issues with clones.

Hi there, and welcome to Fedora land :slight_smile:

Since you just started testing Fedora: Do you really want p2v (convert an existing installation) or rather restart your experiments with a virtualised installation? The latter is easier.

Now, depending on what kind of experiments you’re thinking about, there are different ways:

• full blown virtualization (like VMware): kvm/qemu is the free and open source solution. There are different front-ends, such as gnome-boxes (simple), virt-manager (somewhat similar to the old VMware workstation) and others. Basically gives you complete virtual system.