How can a new user enable secure boot in f40?

Hello!

I am new to fedora and very much looking forward to switching over fully to it. But before I do, I would like to resolve some of the warnings that the Security Report identifies about my device.

I installed fedora40 using the Fedora Media Writer on a USB stick to my second hand Dell Inc. Precision M4800 last weekend. It was running Windows 11 before.

The fedora Security report identifies that I do not have Secure Boot enabled so I would like to enable it.

I have tried adjusting the boot settings by pressing F12 but when I switch on UEFI mode I can not see an option that takes me to a fedora boot program. The options which come up are two Windows Secure Boot options and one long name which looks like a hard disc name. When I select that option, it doesn’t boot fedora but instead takes me to a Windows ‘trying to repair device’ screen and I have to shut down.

Please could anyone give me some simple instructions that I could follow to enable the secure boot?

I’ve had a good look through related posts on here and the FedoraForum but can’t seem to find one which matches my conditions closely enough I’m reasonably familiar with using terminal linux commands to move and list files, among other simple things, but most of all this is new to me.

Additional information.
I wonder if I have mangled my installation somehow. Although I can boot fedora using the legacy or BIOS option, I do have to press return after a couple of ‘Invalid Partition Table!’ messages each time I switch on the laptop. These then lead to a message from GRUB2 which does something to save the situation and the screen then goes on to the now familiar and good ‘fedora’ booting screen.

Thanks

1 Like