F36 live has build tools! but it does not connect wifi

Hi I’m new to linux and never used Fedora.
I want to test F36 on a laptop
i7 1st - 8G - nvidia 310m

STORY
I can connect it via ethernet (rj45) but I challenged myself to connect it via wifi via wpa_supplicant…

I think I’ve done everything right but I don’t get any ip.
Then I see that the dhcpd service does not exist

To make it more complicated I searched and searched for the files to compile dhpd and did it. To my surprise, the F36 live has all the compilation tools. Although it compiled and installed correctly, it did not work.

So I started looking for the rpm and found this one: https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org//packages/dhcp/4.4.3/4.P1.fc36/x86_64/dhcp-client-4.4.3-4.P1. fc36.x86_64.rpm
I tried to install locally but dnf always tries to connect to the internet, I guess it does this to validate the package or to resolve dependencies. So I couldn’t do it either.

And already in the depths of the novice dreamer, I unzipped the rpm and manually put the files in the supposedly correct locations, but it didn’t work for me and so I gave up.

FINALLY THE PROBLEM IN QUESTION
I decide to connect from the graphical mode from the GNOME menu

And the problem is that I put the WPA2/Personal key with which I connect any device and it turns out that it doesn’t accept it…

I know that the problem is very specific but if someone can guide me… what could be the origin of this authentication problem with the wifi router.

Thank you

Welcome to ask :fedora:

First, you should not need to install anything related to dhcp on your laptop for connection to a router, either by wifi or ethernet. Fedora is already configured to work that way.
If it worked for ethernet it would also work for wifi.

Thus the issue is really connecting to your wifi AP.

1. Does the wifi AP show in the available networks with wifi when you use the connect button at the top right of the screen?