External monitor keeps cutting out

Hello everyone

I am a student and I like to connect my laptop to the large monitors in my university’s library. Last year I was using Fedora 38 (silverblue) and had no trouble. Over the winter break I upgraded to Fedora 39. Now it does not work so good. The external monitor will show the image for 1-5 seconds then go blank for 15-60 seconds, and this cycle will repeat, making the external monitor utterly useless.

My dmesg shows this every time I plug in the mini-DP cable:

i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] *ERROR* uncleared fifo underrun on pipe B
i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] *ERROR* CPU pipe B FIFO underrun

Both GNOME settings and inxi detect when I plug or unplug the cable, but show nothing different when the display cuts out (says it is still connected). I have tried a variety of cables and monitors at my university and have the same behavior with all of them. It was working fine with Fedora 38. I am using GNOME, wayland, intel graphics. Please let me know if you need more info. I would be so thankful for your help.

Have you tried increasing the memory allocation for the integrated graphics in the BIOS? That could help if you have multiple/high resolution displays.

I don’t have any options in my BIOS. Besides, why would a OS update cause it to require more RAM allocated by the BIOS? And finally I get the same behavior even if I’m mirroring the laptop display at 800x600.

My research shows that the intel driver should dynamically allocate the RAM. glxinfo shows that 1.5 GB are allocated!