Error: Transaction test error:
  file /usr/share/doc/at-spi2-core/NEWS from install of at-spi2-core-
2.48.2-1.fc38.i686 conflicts with file from package at-spi2-core-
2.48.0-1.fc38.x86_64
  file /usr/share/doc/libssh/CHANGELOG from install of libssh-0.10.5-
1.fc38.i686 conflicts with file from package libssh-0.10.4-
4.fc38.x86_64

Welcome to the Fedora Project @davec

This is a Architecture conflict. You have to remove the .i686 before let the .x86_64 app install. This happens sometimes while using Wine/other apps, who still use 32 Bit apps.

1 Like

I’m a linux newbie. How do I remove the i686?

Please get first a bit informed how to make a useful topic that we can understand what you are trying to do and what your troubles are.

For this I propose you to read/scan the pinned articles first.

Ask Fedora | start-here

If you know how to ask more precise, we will be able to give you more precise answer :fedora:

RPM (the packaging system underying DNF) has “magic” which allows the 32-bit “i686” and 64-bit “x86_64” versions of the same package to be installed at the same time — but this magic only works when both are the exact same version.

As you can see if you look carefully at the numbers, the release numbers of the at-spi2-core and libssh packages don’t match. This problem often happens when you’re trying to just update some subset of things, and DNF gets a little confused. It can also happen when mirrors are out of sync.

In the first case, if you do a general “dnf upgrade” to get everything to the latest, that should work. Or, if it’s the second, it should resolve itself after a few hours or maybe days.

In the meantime, using dnf upgrade --skip-broken should skip these packages until the problem is resolved. Or, as @ilikelinux has noted, you can just remove the i686 packages — in this case, that’d be:

sudo dnf remove at-spi2-core.i686 libssh.i686