Dnf: Segmentation fault preventing upgrade to Fedora 37

I have had difficulties upgrading to Fedora Linux 37, from the previous version.

I initiated the upgrade operation through the graphical tool, but after the system booted to a blank screen, I rebooted. The result was a failure condition (see below).

I switched to Virtual Terminal 2, entered login credentials, and attempted some commands (see below), based on recommendations found in other troubleshooting discussions.

I have limited experience with RedHat-family operating systems, including tools such as dnf.

Note the segmentation fault relating to upgrading cinnamon-calendar-server for scriptlet firefox.

Please offer any suggestions for repairing the system.

Boot screen…

sudo dnf update

sudo dnf system-upgrade download --releasever=37

I had a similar error when I upgraded using the dnf system-upgrade method when done in a GUI terminal. It segfaulted somewhere and the next morning although the reboot worked it was stuck between F36 & F37, having never properly completed.

I had to log in to a terminal session (ctrl-alt-F3) then fix the issue. I wound up redoing the system-upgrade download steps with no progress. I then did a dnf upgrade --releasever=37 which gave me an error because of replacing protected packages. dnf distro-sync and dnf distro-sync --releasever=37 both failed with the same messages.

It turned out that the rpm database showed a lot of f37 packages installed alongside the same F36 packages.