Can't install fedora 31

Hello Everyone,
Newbie here trying to install Fedora 31 on desktop but running into issues. My hardware:

Motherboard: Asus Hero XI Maximus
CPU: Intel I9 9900K
GPU: Nvidia 2080 TI RTX
Harddrive: Sumasung m.2 nvme 1 tb
Ram: 32 gig 3200mhz

I am trying to install Fedora 31 from USB, and as I click on install, I see a few lines running and saying ok in green color and then the screen goes black with pixels and nothing happens for hours and have to force restart everything.

I could not get anything installed and have no OS currently, any suggestions as what to do.

Thanks for your help in advance.

It sounds like a graphic driver issues to me.

Will you consider doing the installation in Text Mode?
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/Fedora/25/html/Installation_Guide/sect-installation-text-mode.html

Thank you for the response. If I go ahead with text mode installation, will I be able to have dual booth or not.
Also will the system install automatically or do I need to do partitions myself.

Sorry I am new at this and want to know what I am doing and the steps.

If you are new to installing Fedora, then doing it via the GUI is much better. The Text mode interface should offer the same function as the GUI mode interface.

Can you do an installation in a virtual guest to get familiar with Fedora installation first?

Long time ago, I tried once that Fedora Installer can:

• reduce size Windows partitions
  • create partitions for Fedora
  • configure Dual-boot between Windows and Fedora

This is a Multi-boot guide and this is how to reclaim disk space using the GUI installer

Although the versions covered are old, the concepts and overall methods still apply.

Thank you SampsonF, I will try it tonight and update the post if I run into any issues.

1 Like

Just a note that this link is for Fedora 25, not a current release (F30/F31). Instructions there may not work, so please tread carefully.

1 Like