Article proposal: Incremental backups with Btrfs snapshots

Snapshotting is a key feature of Btrfs.
These snapshots can be easily sent to a destination (i.e. to an external USB disk or to another host via ssh) using the built in btrfs commands send and receive.

You know, I’m not an expert, I’m a simple user, so I’m unable to go deep in the topics, to explain the backgrounds and so on.
Btw I would like to write a very simple article. The goal is to show such functionality in order to perform incremental backups to an external USB disk. I will not explain deeply what a snapshot is. I will not show any script nor backup software based on btrfs snapshots (like snapper?).

5 Likes

I have a new system with snapper. I let snapper do its thing, but I still make my own btrfs read-only snapshots and send them incrementally to an off-system drive. A snapper snapshot on the filesystem is of no use if the filesystem or the drive it’s on go belly up.

@alciregi I think this sounds like a reasonable idea for an article. It’s great when users come in to share knowledge with other readers! I would encourage you to collaborate with, at least get review from, @cmurf or someone who has a bit of expertise with btrfs so we pass on the best possible information. I think we would want that kind of review before publishing. Does that sound okay?

1 Like

Sure. It sound ok.
A review is always welcome.

The simple thing I do my case is:

mount /dev/a /mnt/fedora   #this can be called 'mounting the top-level of the file system'
mount /dev/b /mnt/backup
cd /mnt
btrfs subvolume snapshot -r home home.20200901
btrfs send home.20200901 | btrfs receive /mnt/backup  #called 'bootstrap' or 'setup' with the first full backup
btrfs subvolume snapshot -r home home.20200904
btrfs subvolume snapshot -r home home.20200905
btrfs send -p home.20200901 home.20200904 | btrfs receive /mnt/backup #incremental
btrfs send -p home.20200904 home.20200905 | btrfs receive /mnt/backup #incremental